Category: Blog

Seduction & Slander Now Legal – New Oklahoma Laws in 2017 Pt 3

Come November 1, 2017, it will be once again be legal in Oklahoma to seduce a virgin by promising to marry her and slander a woman’s virtue! These antiquated laws will be repealed. This is a start, but Oklahoma still has a long way to go towards modernizing our criminal code.

The full text of the repealed laws is below. The year following the text is the year the law was initially enacted.

779 – Imputation of Unchastity as Slander – Penalty

seduction in oklahomaIf any person shall orally or otherwise, falsely and maliciously or falsely and wantonly impute to any female, married or unmarried, a want of chastity, he shall be deemed guilty of slander, and upon conviction shall be fined not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail not less than thirty (30) days nor more than ninety (90) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 1910

780 – Imputation of Unchastity – Proof – Defense

In any prosecution under the preceding section it shall not be necessary for the state to show that such imputation was false, but the defendant may, in justification, show the truth of the imputation, and the general reputation for chastity of the female alleged. 1910

1120 – Penalty for Seducing Unmarried Female Under Promise of Marriage

Any person who, under promise of marriage, seduces and has illicit connection with any unmarried female of previous chaste character shall be guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary not exceeding five (5) years, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine not exceeding One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.1910

1121 – Subsequent Marriage a Defense

The subsequent marriage of the parties is a defense to a prosecution for a violation of the last section. 1910

1122 – Marriage After Seduction – Penalty for Abandonment

Any person charged by information or indictment with the offense of seduction who shall, before the trial of such charge, marry the female whom he was accused of seducing, thereby procuring the dismissal of such charge, and who shall within two (2) years after said marriage, without the fault of his said wife, such fault amounting to acts committed by her after said marriage as would entitle him to a divorce under the laws of this state, shall abandon her or refuse to live with her, or shall be so cruel to her as to compel her to leave him, or shall be guilty of such outrages or cruelties towards her as to make their living together impossible, thereby leaving her or forcing her to leave him, and live apart from each other, shall be guilty of the offense of abandonment after seduction and marriage; and any person convicted of said offense shall be guilty of a felony and shall be confined in the State Penitentiary for a term of not less than two (2) years nor more than ten (10) years; and said marriage shall be no bar to the qualifications of said female to testify against the defendant; and the female so seduced and subsequently married and abandoned as herein provided, shall be a competent witness against said defendant. 1915

If you’ve been charged with a crime in Oklahoma,

Don’t panic!

Call Urbanic.

(405) 633-3420



New Oklahoma Laws In 2017 Part 2 – Illegal To Practice Massage Therapy Without A License

It’s now illegal in Oklahoma to practice massage therapy without a license. The Massage Therapy Practice Act is a completely new law enacted by SB 687. It is found in 59 O.S. §§ 4200.1-4200.13.

oklahoma massage therapyThe Act outlines acts requiring a license, the authority of the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, qualifications for a license, how the license is to be displayed, massage therapy school license requirement, the licensing examination, reciprocity, preemption, disciplinary actions, civil immunity for members of the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, and what constitutes a misdemeanor violation of the Act. The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering will make rules necessary for the implementation and enforcement of the Act.

At a time when many licensing schemes across the country are coming under scrutiny as being unnecessary, Oklahoma is going in the opposite direction and requiring another occupation to be licensed. Legislators cited the following reasons for this new law: 1) Establishing standards of minimum competency; 2) Ensuring therapists are qualified to represent themselves to the public as licensed therapists; 3) Helping consumers identify the responsibilities and services unique to a massage therapist; and 4) Enhancing public safety by enforcing disciplinary actions against non-compliant practitioners; 5) Setting a formal grievance process for consumers. I believe the real reason is to cut down on the massage parlors that serve as fronts for prostitution.

Massage Therapy Practice Act Definitions

“Massage therapist” means an individual who practices massage or massage therapy and is licensed under the Massage Therapy Practice Act. A massage therapist uses visual, kinesthetic, and palpatory skills to assess the body and may evaluate a condition to the extent of determining whether massage is indicated or contraindicated.

“Massage therapy” means the skillful treatment of the soft tissues of the human body. Massage is designed to promote general relaxation, improve movement, relieve somatic and muscular pain or dysfunction, stress and muscle tension, provide for general health enhancement, personal growth, education and the organization, balance and integration of the human body and includes, but is not limited to: 1) the use of touch, pressure, friction, stroking, gliding, percussion, kneading, movement, positioning, holding, range of motion and nonspecific stretching within the normal anatomical range of movement, and vibration by manual or mechanical means with or without the use of massage devices that mimic or enhance manual measures, and 2) the external application of ice, heat and cold packs for thermal therapy, water, lubricants, abrasives and external application of herbal or topical preparations not classified as prescription drugs

Massage Therapy Practice Act – Acts Requiring License

The following acts now require a license in Oklahoma: 1) Use the title of massage therapist; 2) Representing oneself to be a massage therapist; 3) Use of any other title, words, abbreviations, letters, figures, signs or devices that indicate the person is a massage therapist; or 4) Utilizing the terms “massage”, “massage therapy” or “massage therapist” when advertising or printing promotional material.

Massage Therapy Practice Act Criminal Violations

It is a misdemeanor to do any of the following: 1) Violate a provision of the Massage Therapy Practice Act or rules adopted pursuant to the Massage Therapy Practice Act; 2) Render or attempt to render massage therapy services or massage therapy instruction without the required current valid license issued by the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering; 3) Advertise or use a designation, diploma or certificate implying that the person offers massage therapy instruction or is a massage therapy school unless the person holds a current valid license issued by the Oklahoma Board of Private Vocational Schools or is a technology center school accredited by the Oklahoma State Board of Career and Technology Education; or 4) Advertise or use a designation, diploma, or certificate implying that the person is a massage therapist unless the person holds a current valid license issued by the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

This act went into effect on May 1, 2017.

If you are charged with violating the Massage Therapy Practice Act,

Don’t panic!

Call Urbanic.

(405) 633-3420


SB 687 –

59 O.S. § 4200.13 –

Article in Tulsa World –

Enact Texas’s Michael Morton Act In Oklahoma

I think most Oklahomans would be shocked to know that prosecutors can legally withhold evidence from a defendant here. A defendant in Oklahoma is not “entitled” to certain evidence until various points in time–typically ten days before trial. In Texas, on the other hand, defendants are entitled to almost every piece of evidence immediately upon requesting it from the state. Additionally, state agencies have a continuing duty to turn over new evidence to a defendant as they come across it.

In an era with so much focus on “criminal justice reform,” there is no reason a version of Texas’s discovery law (aka the Michael Morton Act) can’t be passed in Oklahoma. I have practiced law under both systems; the criminal discovery process in Texas is far easier to navigate and immensely more fair to a defendant.

Who is Michael Morton, and why is there an Act named after him?

Michael Morton was a man in Texas who was wrongly convicted of killing his wife in 1986. DNA evidence exonerated him in 2011. Ken Anderson, the prosecutor in that case, committed misconduct by concealing evidence. Due to this example of a prosecutor withholding evidence and a discovery law in Texas that allowed prosecutors to get away with similar actions, Texas overhauled its law that covered the state’s responsibility to turn evidence over to a defendant. This rewrite of Texas’s discovery law was named the Michael Morton Act.

The Michael Morton Act went into effect in Texas on January 1, 2014. In a nutshell, it mandates that any state agency (including prosecutors and law enforcement) must turn over all evidence in their possession to the defendant upon request. Period. There are a few minor exceptions for evidence such as child pornography. Oklahoma’s current discovery laws are much like Texas’s old discovery law.

Oklahoma’s Discovery Laws

In Oklahoma, prosecutors can withhold evidence with reckless abandon. While Brady v. Maryland requires prosecutors to hand over evidence to defendants that is “material to either guilt or to punishment,” prosecutors can simply claim that Brady doesn’t apply–without even seeing the evidence themselves!

The two primary statutes that cover criminal discovery in Oklahoma are 22 O.S. § 258 and 22 O.S. § 2002. 22 O.S. § 2002 starts off well. It states that, “Upon request of the defense, the state shall be required to disclose the following . . . .” And then it lists a bunch of stuff the state must turn over. BUT . . . it goes on to state that, “Motions for discovery may be made at the time of the district court arraignment or thereafter; provided that requests for police reports may be made subject to the provisions of Section 258 of this title. However, a request pursuant to Section 258 of this title shall be subject to the discretion of the district attorney. All issues relating to discovery, except as otherwise provided, will be completed at least ten (10) days prior to trial.” Concisely, prosecutors don’t have to turn over anything until ten days before trial!

Section 258 covers preliminary hearings. This section further emphasizes the prosecutor’s ability to withhold evidence: “A preliminary magistrate shall have the authority to limit the evidence presented at the preliminary hearing to that which is relevant to the issues of: (1) whether the crime was committed, and (2) whether there is probable cause to believe the defendant committed the crime. Once a showing of probable cause is made the magistrate shall terminate the preliminary hearing and enter a bindover order; provided, however, that the preliminary hearing shall be terminated only if the state made available for inspection law enforcement reports within the prosecuting attorney’s knowledge or possession at the time to the defendant five (5) working days prior to the date of the preliminary hearing. The district attorney shall determine whether or not to make law enforcement reports available prior to the preliminary hearing. If reports are made available, the district attorney shall be required to provide those law enforcement reports that the district attorney knows to exist at the time of providing the reports, but this does not include any physical evidence which may exist in the case. This provision does not require the district attorney to provide copies for the defendant, but only to make them available for inspection by defense counsel. In the alternative, upon agreement of the state and the defendant, the court may terminate the preliminary hearing once a showing of probable cause is made.” Succinctly, a prosecutor doesn’t even have to turn over police reports prior to a preliminary hearing!

Now, in practice, prosecutors do turn over police reports immediately upon request. I have never had a problem getting those. But the point is that they have the power to withhold even the most basic discovery from defense attorneys. Prosecutors, along with law enforcement, very frequently withhold other much-needed evidence such as videos, audio, and pictures. This is the real problem.

The Way Forward

The authority given to prosecutors to withhold evidence by these statutes is outrageous and has no place in current American law. I have been told by prosecutors on multiple occasions that I am not “entitled” to certain pieces of evidence yet. I’m talking mainly about pictures and video. That type of evidence would be turned over ASAP in Texas without a second thought today. But, prosecutors in Oklahoma today are free to withhold plenty of relevant and important evidence.

The first time I was told by a prosecutor in Oklahoma that I wasn’t “entitled” to evidence (pictures of a complaining witness), I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. Surely that was a joke, I thought. But no, the prosecutor was dead serious. I had come from practicing in Texas, where I had requested and received that sort of evidence with zero problem every time. And now, in Oklahoma, I have even had a prosecutor berate me for asking for a video of a DUI stop “so early,” according to him. Well, excuse me for trying to defend my clients!

This system must change, and now is the time. I am urging Oklahoma legislators to enact a version of Texas’s Michael Morton Act. The language is already there. Prosecutors and defense attorneys had input in crafting the language in Texas, so it is not one-sided. It’s been in effect since 2014 with little modification, so it’s been tested. Sections 258 and 2002 of Title 21 must also be repealed or modified to be in line with Oklahoma’s Michael Morton Act.

With such a focus on criminal justice reform today, there’s no reason this legislation can’t get passed. Imagine the judicial economy if defendants can know how good or bad their case is much earlier. The defense attorney could point out the flaws in a case to a prosecutor early on, and the defendant could have a better outcome then the might have otherwise had. Or, the defendant could find out what a bad case he or she has early on, thus eliminating needless preliminary hearings. In the end, the Oklahoma criminal justice system will be more efficient and fair.

Are we willing to risk the next Michael Morton happening in Oklahoma? Are our prosecutors willing to risk becoming the next Ken Anderson? Keeping the current law is not worth risking those things. And it’s not worth putting justice at risk. Enact the Michael Morton Act in Oklahoma.


22 O.S. § 258 –

22 O.S. 2002 –

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 39.14 (The Michael Morton Act) –

Texas Innocence Project – Michael Morton

Towards More Transparent Justice – The Michael Morton Act’s First Year

If you have been arrested in Oklahoma,

Don’t panic!

Call Urbanic.


New Oklahoma Laws In 2017 Part 1 – SQ 780 Makes Simple Possession Of All Drugs A Misdemeanor

I saved the best for first! Starting July 1, 2017, simple possession of every drug becomes a misdemeanor. It doesn’t matter how many times you’ve been convicted of drug possession, what kind of drug it is, where you were caught with it, or whether there was a child with you–it’s ALL a misdemeanor. This change was due to 58% of Oklahoma voters passing State Question 780 in November 2016. SQ 780 amends 63 O.S. § 2-402.

The change moves Oklahoma from one of the harshest states for drug possession to likely the most lenient for drug possession. Generally, the law just prior to SQ 780 going into effect was as follows:

  • Felony to be caught with any Schedule I or II substance except marijuana
  • Felony to be caught a second or subsequent time with marijuana or any Schedule II, IV, or V substance
  • Felony to be caught with any controlled substance within 1000 feet of a school and a bunch of other places
  • Felony to be caught with any controlled substance with a child under 12 present

All of those qualifiers are now GONE! It’s very simple now–it’s all a misdemeanor. The change is radical, but it’s what Oklahoma needs. Oklahoma has the second highest incarceration rate in the country, and has the highest incarceration rate for women.

Oklahoma Drug Laws Offenses, Penalties, & Your Rights

Get Help

We are sick and tired of our prisons being filled with people who don’t belong there. Meddling politicians tried to change the law in 2017 before it was even implemented, but thankfully those bills died. Power to the people!!!

Unfortunately, the law is not retroactive. So, people arrested for simple drug possession through June will be charged under the old version of the statute even though they were charged after the new version went into effect.

If you have been arrested for drug possession in Oklahoma …

Don’t panic!

Call Urbanic



Text of SQ 780 –

63 O.S. § 2-402 –


Who You Can Have Sex With In Oklahoma – Oklahoma’s Age Of Consent Law


I’m a frequent poster on The question we get on there, by far, goes something like, “I’m X years old. Can I have sex with someone who is Y years old?”. The answer to this question requires a look at of Oklahoma’s age of consent, incest, and rape laws.The age of consent in Oklahoma is 16. Therefore, it is generally legal for a 16-year-old to have sex with anyone older than them. Sex between people who are 15-18 years old is generally lawful. A variety of exceptions make that sex illegal.

21 OS § 1111 states that rape occurs when the victim is 15 years old or younger. However, 21 OS § 1112 states that a person cannot be convicted of rape when the consensual sex occurred with someone over 14 unless the person was 19 years or older.

21 OS § 1111 also states that the following sex is also illegal:

  • Where the victim is under the legal custody or supervision of a state agency, a federal agency, a county, a municipality or a political subdivision and engages in sexual intercourse with a state, federal, county, municipal or political subdivision employee or an employee of a contractor of the state, the federal government, a county, a municipality or a political subdivision that exercises authority over the victim. Translation: No sex by government employees with someone who is under the custody of a governmental agency if that agency the employee works for exercises authority over the victim.
  • Where the victim is at least sixteen (16) years of age and is less than twenty (20) years of age and is a student, or under the legal custody or supervision of any public or private elementary or secondary school, junior high or high school, or public vocational school, and engages in sexual intercourse with a person who is eighteen (18) years of age or older and is an employee of the same school system. Translation: A school employee who is 18 or older can’t have sex with a student in that same school system who is younger than 20.
  • Where the victim is nineteen (19) years of age or younger and is in the legal custody of a state agency, federal agency or tribal court and engages in sexual intercourse with a foster parent or foster parent applicant. Translation: Foster parents can’t have sex with their foster children if the foster child is 19 or younger.

Per 21 OS § 885, incest is illegal. 43 OS § 2 outlines the parameters of whom it would be illegal to have sex with. Sex between people of the following relation is illegal:

  • ancestors and descendants of any degree,
  • a stepfather with a stepdaughter,
  • stepmother with stepson,
  • uncles and nieces,
  • aunts and nephews, except in cases where such relationship is only by marriage,
  • brothers and sisters of the half as well as the whole blood, and
  • first cousins.

If you’ve been charged with rape or incest,

Don’t panic!

Call Urbanic.

(405) 633-3420


21 OS § 1111 –

21 OS § 1112 –

21 OS § 885 –

43 OS § 2 –

Free Case Evaluation


This is the (current) law that prosecutors will use to overturn the will of Oklahoma voters

In November 2016, voters in Oklahoma resoundingly said they’re fed up with the way drug crimes are prosecuted. State Question 780 modified the drug possession statute. It made every simple possession of drugs a misdemeanor. It won’t matter where you had the drugs, what kind of drug it was, or how many times you’ve been arrested for drug possession–it will always be a misdemeanor. The law goes into effect on July 1, 2017, and 58% of voters approved it

Now, our legislature is trying to undo SQ 780. The most likely legislative change will be to make it a felony to possess drugs within a certain distance of a handful of areas. This will turn about half of Oklahoma into a felony drug possession area. Oh, and you will have to serve 90% of your prison sentence.

HOWEVER–our out-of-touch legislators won’t have to wait until their meddling goes into effect. An obscure Oklahoma law CURRENTLY makes it a felony to possess a controlled dangerous substance without “affixing the appropriate stamp.” This is not a joke. So, come July, when prosecutors can’t use the usual drug possession statute anymore to charge people with felonies, they will be using 68 OS § 450.8 to convict people of not possessing a tax stamp. Of course, nobody will have a tax stamp, so any simple possession of drugs can also be a violation of this statute.

This is beyond outrageous. I love how people are out there now telling the voters that they were too stupid to know what they were voting for. I know exactly what I voted for, as did many people I talked with. The ink isn’t even dry on this statute, and everyone is trying to find a way to nullify it. Our prisons are overcrowded. Lives are ruined early on due to felony drug charges. The people who voted for SQ 780 see the effects of Oklahoma’s harsh drug laws first-hand. The people who are trying to change this law supposedly represent the community. Unfortunately, they don’t see things from the perspective of people who experience how broken the system is. Let’s see how this new law plays out before attempting to change it.

If you’ve been arrested for drug possession, then call The Urbanic Law Firm!



68 OS § 450.8 –

How to get pulled over in Oklahoma–OR–What NOT to do if you’re driving with drugs in your car

The following is a list of ridiculous reasons why law enforcement can pull you over in Oklahoma. Doing any of these will turn your car into a probable cause mobile.

  1. Driving with your fog lamps on when it’s not foggy. 47 O.S. § 12-217 states that fog lamps can only be used when visibility is 1/2 mile or less. Better play it safe and just don’t turn them on at all within our borders.
  2. Not signaling a lane change early enough. 47 O.S. § 11-309 states that a driver must signal a lane change at least 100 ft prior to changing lanes. How long is that when you’re driving? Who knows. Just put on that blinker a long time before you turn the wheel.
  3. Not signaling a right or left turn early enough. 47 O.S. § 11-604 states that a driver must signal a right or left turn at least 100 ft prior to turning. Again, signal way before you think you need to turn.
  4. Following too closely. 47 O.S. § 11-310 states, “The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway.” What the hell does that mean?? It means that a cop can pull you over for any distance he or she deems is “too close.” So stay as far behind every other vehicle as possible.
  5. License plate insufficiently lit. 47 O.S. § 12-204.1 states that a license plate must be lit to where it is legible at 50 ft. You also can’t have more than two lights illuminating the plate. And the lights have to be white.
  6. Third brake light not working. 47 O.S. § 12-206 states that the third (middle) brake light must be operational if your vehicle is equipped with one.
  7. Driving in the left lane without passing somebody. 47 OS §11-309 states that you can’t impede the normal flow of traffic by driving in the left lane. 47 OS §11-301 states that you need to drive in the right hand lane if you’re driving at less than the normal speed of traffic. Translation: Don’t clog up the left lane, and move right if you’re slow. Actually, this is not a ridiculous law. You should be arrested if you’re driving slow in the fast lane!
  8. Driving with a cracked windshield. 47 O.S. § 12-404 says what types of windshield cracks are unacceptable. It’s illegal to have any outright breakage in the windshield or in the window on either side of the driver; have any star break or shot damage, 3″ or more in diameter, located in the critical area; or have two or more stress or hairline cracks, 12″ or more in combined length, located in the critical area. The critical area is the area cleaned by the normal sweep of the windshield wiper blade on the driver’s side. This law also says that it’s illegal to drive a motor vehicle with any sign, poster, other nontransparent material, or debris (including but not limited to snow, ice, or frost) on the front windshield or the side wings, or side or rear windows. You also can’t suspend any sign, poster, object, or other material from the interior of the vehicle that materially obstructs, obscures, or impairs the driver’s clear view of the highway ahead or to either side or of any intersecting highway.

I’ve seen people pulled over for many of the above reasons. Oklahoma cops ARE looking for those things, and they WILL pull you over!

And, of course, there are the more obvious reasons to pull you over:

  • Speeding
  • Expired tag
  • Not wearing a seat belt
  • Broken taillight/headlight
  • Not obeying street signs (47 O.S. § 11-201)
  • Marijuana smoke billowing out of your vehicle

So, if you’re going to be driving on Oklahoma roads and don’t want to get stopped, just follow a few simple instructions. Inspect your car prior to leaving. Make sure all lights work. While you’re doing that, check to make sure your tag isn’t expired. Signal way before you turn or change lanes. Don’t go one mile over the speed limit. Wear a seat belt. Stay far behind other vehicles. And NEVER, EVER, EVER use your fog lamps.

Have I left out any ridiculous reasons people get pulled over for in Oklahoma? Let me know!

Have you been pulled over for something ridiculous? Or something not ridiculous?

Call The Urbanic Law Firm!



New Oklahoma Criminal Laws in 2016 – Summary

This post summarizes each new Oklahoma law relating to criminal justice that went into effect in 2016. When I originally started this endeavor, I thought I would be making a handful of posts. I ended up making 22 posts. I’m confident that my site has the most comprehensive analysis of Oklahoma criminal laws that went into effect in 2016.

Part 1 – DUI prosecutions by municipalities

Part 2 – Discretion to file misdemeanor charges under certain circumstances

Part 3 – Expungement Reform

Part 4 – Reduction of mandatory minimums for drug offenses

Part 5 – Threshold for property crimes to be charged as a felony raised to $1,000

Part 6 – No longer illegal to drive without insurance card

Part 7 – Collection of DNA for felony arrests

Part 8 – Easier to charge domestic violence as a felony

Part 9 – Revenge porn is now illegal

Part 10 – Illegal to commit forcible sodomy on unconscious victims

Part 11 – Courts to consider PTSD when sentencing veterans

Part 12 – Court costs to be reduced if restitution is reduced

Part 13 – Doubling fees to prosecute you

Part 14 – Prison sentence modification period extended to 60 months

Part 15 – Prosecutor can dismiss charge by filing a notice of dismissal

Part 16 – Changing the definition of child abuse

Part 17 – Expanding drug court & community sentencing eligibility

Part 18 – Traditional insanity acquittal abolished

Part 19 – Expanding the force element in specific sexual assault crimes & defining the necessary consent for a sexual act

Part 20 – Granting trial courts authority to waive fines, court costs, & fees

Part 21 – Granting drug courts authority to waive remaining fees, court costs, & fines

Part 22 – Legally carry more types of knives

Hopefully, you found this interesting. My goal is to do this each year. I’ll start earlier in 2017 so that the posts are closer to the day the governor signed the bills.

If you’re been arrested in Oklahoma … Don’t panic! Call Urbanic.


New Oklahoma Laws In 2016 Part 22 – Legally Carry More Types Of Knives

SB 1159 legalized the carrying of any dagger, bowie knife, dirk knife, or sword cane. A bill that went into effect in 2015 legalized the carrying of switchblades.

Convicted felons cannot carry firearms, so this law will be useful in allowing them to carry something for self-defense. It also decriminalizes behavior that many people were doing anyway. It’s a good way to allow law enforcement resources to be directed towards more important things.

This is my FINAL post on new Oklahoma laws in 2016! When I first started this project, I thought I would be doing a handful of posts. I had no idea this would result in 22 posts! In the next post, I’ll be posting a summary of each new law.

This law went into effect on November 1, 2016 and amended 21 OS § 1272.

SB 1159 –

21 OS § 1272 –

News article covering SB 1159 –

If you’ve been charged with illegally carrying a weapon in Oklahoma, contact The Urbanic Law Firm!


Oklahoma Gun Laws

Get Help

New Oklahoma Laws In 2016 Part 21 – Granting Drug Courts Authority To Waive Remaining Fees, Court Costs, & Fines

HB 3119 grants drug courts authority to waive remaining fees, court costs, and fines, upon successful completion of drug court if the court believes that continued payment would create a financial hardship for the offender. The court can also now waive any requirement that fines and costs be satisfied by a person prior to that person being eligible for a provisional driver license.

This law went into effect November 1, 2016 and amends 22 OS §§ 471.6 and 471.9.

HB 3119 –

22 OS § 471.6 –

22 OS § 471.9 –

If you are interested in getting into a drug court in Oklahoma, contact The Urbanic Law Firm.