Trespass on Farming and Ranching Property-2018 Oklahoma Laws #29

Trespassing oklahomaThe range of fine for willfully entering private land of another that is primarily devoted to farming, ranching, or forestry purposes without permission by the surface owner, surface lessee, hunting lessee, or lawful occupant of that land (trespassing) is now $750-$2,000. The previous range of fine is $500-$1500. The minimum fine for willfully or maliciously entering any land of another and then commits or attempts to commit waste, theft, or damage has been increased to $1,000. The previous range of fine was $250-$500. The minimum fine for a second or subsequent offense has been increased to $2,500. The previous range of fine was $700-$1,500. All of these offenses are misdemeanors. The range of punishment for all is 30 days-6 months in jail. This is an odd update to Oklahoma law in that it didn’t do a whole lot. The fines got bumped up a little on one crime, and it put a minimum (with no maximum?) fine on another crime. The fines weren’t even increased very much. HB 3370 amended 21 O.S. § 1835.2. It went into effect November 1, 2018. Sources: HB 3370 & 21 O.S. § 1835.2

Charged with a crime in Oklahoma? Call Oklahoma criminal defense lawyer Frank Urbanic in OKC at 405-633-3420.

Don’t panic! Call Urbanic.® 405-633-3420