This law increased the penalty for someone dumping an item that exceeds 50 lbs and increased the fine of a state traffic citation. It’s illegal to deliberately place, throw, drop, dumps deposit, or discard any garbage, trash, waste, rubbish, refuse, debris, or other deleterious substance on any public property or on any private property of another without consent of the property owner. This crime is a misdemeanor.
Penalty for Trash Dumping
The maximum punishment in the county jail is 30 days. The range of fine is $200-$5,000. A law enforcement officer may issue a state traffic citation to any person committing this violation. The maximum amount of that state traffic citation is $500. It used to be $400.
Trash Dumping Something Heavy
Now, if the item of furniture or item exceeds 50 pounds, the range of fine is $1,000-$6,500. The maximum punishment in the county jail becomes 60 days. HB 2702 amended 21 O.S. § 1761.1 It went into effect November 1, 2018. Sources: HB 2702 & 21 O.S. § 1761.1
Arrested in Oklahoma for trash dumping? Call Oklahoma criminal defense lawyer Frank Urbanic in OKC at 405-633-3420.