Disorderly Conduct in Oklahoma – Laws & Punishments

Disorderly Conduct in Oklahoma

disorderly conduct charge oklahoma attorneyThis crime is officially called, ” Disturbance by Loud or Unusual Noise or Abusive, Violent, Obscene, Profane or Threatening Language.” It’s the most commonly used statute to charge someone with “disturbing the peace.”

It’s illegal to willfully or maliciously disturb, either by day or night, the peace and quiet of any city of the first class, town, village, neighborhood, family or person by :

  • loud or unusual noise, or by
  • abusive,
  • violent,
  • obscene or
  • profane language, whether addressed to the party so disturbed or some other person, or by threatening to
    • kill,
    • do bodily harm or injury,
    • destroy property,
    • fight, or by
      • quarreling or challenging to fight, or
      • fighting, or
      • shooting off any firearms, or
      • brandishing the same, or by
      • running any horse at unusual speed along any
        • street,
        • alley,
        • highway or
        • public road.

The maximum fine is $100. The maximum punishment in jail is 30 days.

Charged with Disorderly Conduct in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 21 O.S. § 1362 

Acts Resulting in Gross Injury

It’s illegal to willfully and wrongfully commit any act that grossly injures the person or property of another, or that grossly disturbs the public peace or health, or that openly outrages public decency, including but not limited to urination in a public place, and is injurious to public morals. Supposedly, this law was used decades ago to keep black men from dating white women.

The maximum punishment in jail is one year. The maximum fine is $500.

Charged with Acts Resulting in Gross Injury in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 22 & 10

Use of Language Calculated to Arouse Anger or Cause Breach of Peace

It’s illegal to use any profane, violent, abusive, or insulting language toward or about another person, in the presence or hearing, which language, as is commonly accepted, is calculated to anger the person about or to whom it is spoken or addressed, or to cause a breach of the peace or an assault.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in jail is 30 days. The maximum fine is $100.

Charged with Use of Language Calculated to Arouse Anger or Cause Breach of Peace in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 21 O.S. § 1363 

Discharging a Firearm

It’s illegal to willfully discharges any pistol, rifle, shotgun, airgun, or other weapon, or throw any other missile in any public place, or in any place where there is any person to be endangered by it, although nobody gets injured.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in jail is one year. The maximum fine is $500.

Any person convicted of a violation of this crime after having been issued a handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall will have his or her license suspended for six months and will be subject to a $50 fine upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of this law.

Charged with Discharging a Firearm in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 1364 & 10

Disturbing an Assembly or Meeting

It’s illegal to, without authority of law, willfully disturb or break up any legal assembly or meeting (other than a religious meeting, public meeting of electors, or funeral).

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in jail is one year. The maximum fine is $500.

Charged with Disturbing an Assembly or Meeting in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 1361 & 10

Projecting Object at Public Event

It’s illegal for someone in attendance at an athletic or other public entertainment event to project in any manner an object that could cause bodily harm to another person. Any person violating this law will be subject to ejection from the event by the officials supervising the event. This law doesn’t apply to the participants in the athletic or other public entertainment event.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $100.

Charged with Projecting Object at Public Event in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 21 O.S. § 1377

Orders to Leave Institutions of Learning

The chief administrative officer or anyone designated by the chief administrative officer or the governing board of the institution of learning to maintain order at an institution of learning shall has the authority and power to direct any person to leave the institution of learning who is not a student, officer, or employee of the institution, and who:

  1. Interferes with the peaceful conduct of activities at an institution of learning;
  2. Commits an act that interferes with the peaceful conduct of activities at an institution of learning; or
  3. Enters the institution of learning for the purpose of committing an act that may interfere with the peaceful conduct of activities at an institution of learning.

It’s a crime for anyone who fails to leave the institution of learning as directed or returns six months thereafter, without first obtaining written permission from the chief administrative officer or anyone designated by the chief administrative officer or the governing board of the institution of learning.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in jail is one year. The maximum fine is $500.

“Interferes with the peaceful conduct” includes actions that directly interfere with classes, study, student, or faculty safety, housing, or parking areas, or extracurricular activities; threatening or stalking any person; damaging or causing waste to any property belonging to another person or the institution of learning; or direct interference with administration, maintenance or security of property belonging to the institution of learning.

The governing board of each institution of learning must establish a grievance or appeals procedure and an opportunity for hearing for persons who have been required to leave the institution pursuant to this law. Anyone removed from the institution pursuant to this law must be given written notice of the procedure for requesting a hearing and filing a grievance or appeal.

Charged with Failure to Leave Institutions of Learning in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 1376 & 10

Disturbing Religious Worship

It’s illegal to willfully disturb, interrupt, or disquiet any assemblage of people met for religious worship, by any of the following ways:

  1. Uttering any profane discourse, committing any rude or indecent act, or making any unnecessary noise, either within the place where such meeting is held, or so near it as to disturb the order and solemnity of the meeting.
  2. Exhibiting, within one mile, any shows or plays without a license by the proper authority.
  3. Engaging in, or aiding or promoting within the like distance, any racing of animals or gaming of any description.
  4. Obstructing in any manner, without authority of law, within the like distance, the free passage along any highway to the place of such meeting.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in jail is one year. The maximum fine is $500.

Charged with Disturbing Religious Worship in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 915, 916, & 10

Current as of April 5, 2020. Laws are subject to change at any time! Go to the sources cited above for the most up-to-date law.

Arrested for disorderly conduct in Oklahoma? Call Oklahoma criminal defense attorney Frank Urbanic in OKC for a free case consultation.

Don’t panic! Call Urbanic.® 405-633-3420