Automobile Theft Offenses In Oklahoma – Law & Punishments

Oklahoma has several statutes that cover the theft or unlawful use of motor vehicles. The most common are Theft of Aircraft, Automobile, Automotive Driven Vehicle, or Construction or Farm Equipment; Unlawful Use of a Motor Vehicle; Joyriding, Receiving or Disposing of a Vehicle, and Receiving or Disposing of an Implement of Husbandry.
 

Theft of Aircraft, Automobile, Automotive Driven Vehicle, or Construction/Farm Equipment

top attorney okc unauthorized use of motor vehicle automobile chargeTheft of an aircraft, automobile, or other automotive driven vehicle, construction equipment, or farm equipment is a felony.

The maximum punishment in the custody of the Department of Corrections is five years if the value of the vehicle is less than $50,000. The range of punishment in the Department of Corrections is 3-10 years if the value of the vehicle is $50,000 or more. The maximum fine is an amount equal to three times the value of the property that was stolen but not more than $500,000. Restitution must be paid.

Charged with Theft of Aircraft, Automobile, Automotive Driven Vehicle, or Construction/Farm Equipment in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 21 O.S. § 1720

Unauthorized Use of a Vehicle

It’s a felony for anyone not entitled to possession of a vehicle to, without the consent of the owner and with intent to deprive the owner, temporarily or otherwise, of the vehicle or its possession, take, use, or drive the vehicle. This is sometimes referred to unauthorized use of a motor vehicle, or UUMV.

The maximum punishment in the Department of Corrections is two years.

Charged with Unauthorized Use of a Vehicle in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 47 O.S. § 4-102

Unauthorized Use of an Implement of Husbandry

It’s a felony for someone not entitled to possession of an implement of husbandry to, without the consent of the owner and with intent to deprive the owner, temporarily or otherwise, of the implement of husbandry or its possession, take, use, or drive the implement of husbandry.

The range of punishment in the Department of Corrections is 1-5 years. The range of fine is $500-$5,000.

Someone convicted of this crime when the offense occurred during a period when the driving privileges of the person were under suspension, revocation, cancellation, denial, or disqualification or the person had not been granted driving privileges by Oklahoma or any other state, will result in the doubling of the appropriate fine and the doubling of all court costs and all fees collected by the court on behalf of any other entity, unless waived by the court.

Charged with Unauthorized Use of an Implement of Husbandry in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 47 O.S. § 4-102 & 17-102

Joyriding

A violation of this law occurs when someone loiters in or upon any automobile or motor vehicle; defaces or injures an automobile or motor vehicle; molests, drives, or attempts to drive any automobile, for joyriding or any other purpose; or manipulates or meddles with any machinery or appliances thereof without the consent of the owner of the automobile or motor vehicle.

This crime is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment in the county jail is one year. The range of fine is $100–$500.

Charged with Joyriding in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 21 O.S. § 1787 & 21 O.S. § 1788

Receiving or Disposing of a Stolen Vehicle

It’s a felony for a person not entitled to the possession of a vehicle to receive, possess, conceal, sell, or dispose of it, knowing the vehicle to be stolen or converted under circumstances constituting a crime .

The maximum punishment in the Department of Corrections is two years.

Charged with Receiving or Disposing of a Stolen Vehicle in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Source: 47 O.S. § 4-103

Receiving or Disposing of a Stolen Implement of Husbandry

It’s a felony for someone not entitled to the possession of an implement of husbandry to receive, possess, conceal, sell, or dispose of it, knowing the implement of husbandry to be stolen or converted under circumstances constituting a crime.

The range of punishment in the Department of Corrections is 1-5 years. The range of fine is $500-$5,000. Someone convicted of this crime when the offense occurred during a period when the driving privileges of the person were under suspension, revocation, cancellation, denial, or disqualification or the person had not been granted driving privileges by Oklahoma or any other state, will result in the doubling of the appropriate fine and the doubling of all court costs and all fees collected by the court on behalf of any other entity, unless waived by the court.

Charged with Receiving or Disposing of a Stolen Implement of Husbandry in Oklahoma? Get a free case consultation.

Sources: 47 O.S. § 4-103 & 17-102

Current as of March 29, 2020. Laws are subject to change at any time! Go to the sources cited above for the most up-to-date law.

Charged with theft of an automobile in Oklahoma? Call Oklahoma vehicle theft attorney Frank Urbanic in OKC for a free case consultation.

Don’t panic! Call Urbanic.® 405-633-3420