What Are The Consequences Of Violating A Victim Protective Order In Oklahoma?

It is a crime to violate a Victim Protective Order. This is covered in 22 O.S. § 60.6. The first violation is a misdemeanor. Punishment consists of a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to one year in the county jail. A second offense is a felony. This carries from one to three years in the Department of Corrections and a fine of $2,000 –$10,000.

Violation Of Victim Protective Order That Causes Physical Injury Or Physical Impairment

Violating A Victim Protective Order In OklahomaA Victim Protective Order violation resulting in physical injury or physical impairment to the plaintiff or any person mentioned in a protective order is a misdemeanor. The violator can spend 20 days–1 year in jail. The maximum fine is $5,000.

The second or subsequent violation of a protective order that causes physical injury or physical impairment to a plaintiff or any other person named in the protective order is a felony. This carries a penalty of one to five years in the Department of Corrections and a fine ranging from $3,000–$10,000. The defendant also must undergo or participate in a counseling service as necessary to bring about the cessation of domestic abuse, stalking, or harassment.

Source:

22 O.S. § 60.6

For more information on Violating A Victim Protective Order In Oklahoma, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (405) 633-3420 today.