Child Pornography in Oklahoma

Definition of Child Pornography in Oklahoma

“Child pornography” means and includes any visual depiction or individual image stored or contained in any format on any medium including, but not limited to:

  1. film,charged with child pornography in oklahoma
  2. motion picture,
  3. videotape,
  4. photograph,
  5. negative,
  6. undeveloped film,
  7. slide,
  8. photographic product,
  9. reproduction of a photographic product,
  10. play or
  11. performance

in which a child under the age of 18 is engaged with any person (other than his or her spouse)  or observes any:

  1. act of sexual intercourse, which is normal or perverted,
  2. act of anal sodomy,
  3. act of sexual activity with an animal,
  4. act of sadomasochistic abuse including, but not limited to,
    1. flagellation,
    2. torture,
    3. the condition of being fettered, bound or otherwise physically restrained in the context of sexual conduct,
  5. act of fellatio or cunnilingus,
  6. act of excretion in the context of sexual conduct,
  7. lewd exhibition of the uncovered genitals in the context of masturbation or other sexual conduct,
  8. lewd exhibition of the uncovered genitals, buttocks, or the breast of a female if she’s a minor where the lewd exhibition has the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer.

Each visual depiction or individual image constitutes a separate item. Multiple copies of the same identical material is counted as a separate item.

What the State Must Prove for a Child Pornography Conviction

The prosecutor must prove each of the following beyond a reasonable doubt:

  1. Knowingly;
  2. possessing/procuring/manufacturing/ (causing to be sold/distributed);
  3. any child pornography.

“Knowingly” requires the jury to find beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant knew the nature and character of the contents of the porn. It’s not necessary that the defendant knew the exact content or actually saw or read the porn they were caught with.

Punishment For Possession of Child Pornography in Oklahoma

Possession of child porn is a felony. The maximum punishment in the Department of Corrections is 20 years. The maximum fine is $25,000. This is a violent crime and an 85% crime. People convicted of 85% crimes are required to serve no less than 85% of any sentence of imprisonment prior to becoming eligible for consideration for parole. They are not eligible for earned credits or any other type of credits that have the effect of reducing the length of the sentence to less than 85% of the sentence imposed.

Sex Offender Registration For Possession of Child Pornography

Anyone convicted of possession of child pornography in Oklahoma must register as a Sex Offender under the Oklahoma Sex Offender Registry Act. Possession of child pornography is a level one sex crime in Oklahoma. This means an offender must register for a total of 15 years with annual address verification. In addition to being labeled a sex offender, individuals convicted of possession of child pornography in Oklahoma must also comply with numerous laws that significantly affect their life. The offender must register with the local law enforcement agency. If the offender is a student, then he or she must notify the police or security department of any institution of higher learning.

Aggravated Possession of Child Pornography Definition

The possession of 100 or more separate materials depicting child pornography is aggravated possession of child pornography in Oklahoma.  In addition to the above definition, “child pornography” also includes sexual conduct, sexual excitement, sadomasochistic abuse, and performance of material harmful to minors where a minor is present or depicted.

“Harmful to minors” means:

  1. that quality of any description, exhibition, presentation or representation, in whatever form, of nudity, sexual conduct, sexual excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse when the material or performance, taken as a whole, has the following characteristics:
    1. the average person 18 or older applying contemporary community standards would find that the material or performance has a predominant tendency to appeal to a prurient interest in sex to minors; and
    2. the average person 18 or older applying contemporary community standards would find that the material or performance depicts or describes nudity, sexual conduct, sexual excitement, or sadomasochistic abuse in a manner that is patently offensive to prevailing standards in the adult community with respect to what is suitable for minors; and
    3. the material or performance lacks serious literary, scientific, medical, artistic, or political value for minors; or
  2. any description, exhibition, presentation, or representation, in whatever form, of inappropriate violence.

“Material” means any book, magazine, newspaper, pamphlet, poster, print, picture, figure, image, description, motion picture film, record, recording tape, CD-ROM disk, Magnetic Disk Memory, Magnetic Tape Memory, video tape, computer software, or video game. “Sexual conduct” means acts of masturbation, homosexuality, sexual intercourse, or physical contact with a person’s clothed or unclothed genitals, pubic area, buttocks, or, if such person be a female, breast. “Sexual excitement” means the condition of human male or female genitals when in a state of sexual stimulation or arousal. “Sadomasochistic abuse” means flagellation or torture by or upon a person clothed or naked or the condition of being fettered, bound, or otherwise physically restrained on the part of one so clothed or naked.

“Nudity” means the:

  1. showing of the human male or female genitals, pubic area, or buttocks with less than a full opaque covering;
  2. showing of the female breast with less than a full opaque covering of any portion of the female breast below the top of the nipple; or
  3. depiction of covered male genitals in a discernibly turgid state.

Punishment for Aggravated Possession of Child Pornography

The maximum punishment in the Department of Corrections is life imprisonment. The maximum fine is $10,000. This is a violent crime and an 85% crime. People convicted of 85% crimes are required to serve no less than 85% of any sentence of imprisonment prior to becoming eligible for consideration for parole. They are not eligible for earned credits or any other type of credits that have the effect of reducing the length of the sentence to less than 85% of the sentence imposed.

Sex Offender Registration For Aggravated Possession of Child Pornography

Anyone convicted of aggravated possession of child pornography in Oklahoma must register as a Sex Offender under the Oklahoma Sex Offender Registry Act. Aggravated possession of child pornography is a level one sex crime in Oklahoma. This means an offender must register for a total of 15 years with annual address verification. In addition to being labeled a sex offender, individuals convicted of aggravated possession of child pornography in Oklahoma must also comply with numerous laws that significantly affect their life. The offender must register with the local law enforcement agency. If the offender is a student, then he or she must notify the police or security department of any institution of higher learning.

Where Sex Offenders Can Live

A sex offender can’t live within a 2000 ft radius of any:

  • public or private school site;
  • educational institution;
  • property or campsite used by an organization whose primary purpose is working with children;
  • playground or park that is established, operated, or supported in whole or in part by a homeowners’ association or a city, town, county, state, federal or tribal government; a
  • licensed child care center or family child care home; or
  • the residence of his or her victim.

The distance is measured from the nearest property line of the residence of the sex offender to the nearest property line of the place listed above.

In any offense in which a minor child was the victim the sex offender can’t reside with a minor child or establish any other living accommodation where a minor child resides. Provided, however, the sex offender may reside with a minor child if the person is the parent, stepparent, or grandparent of the minor child and the minor child was not the victim of the offense for which the sex offender is required to register. A sex offender who resides with a minor child as the parent, stepparent, or grandparent of the minor child, provided the minor child was not the victim of the offense for which the sex offender is required to register, must report to the statewide centralized hotline of the Department of Human Services the name and date of birth of any and all minor children residing in the same household and the offenses for which the sex offender is required to register within three days of intent to reside with a minor child.

The restrictions on where a sex offender can’t live don’t apply to any registered sex offender residing in a hospital or other facility certified or licensed by the Oklahoma to provide medical services.

It’s illegal for two or more sex offenders to reside together in any individual dwelling during the term of registration as a sex offender. This restriction doesn’t apply to:

  • any properly zoned and established boarding house, apartment building or other multi-unit structure; provided the individual dwellings are separate for each registered person;
  • the sharing of living quarters, jail or prison space, or any multi-person or dormitory-style housing of sex offenders in the custody of any jail or correctional facility or any properly zoned facility under contract with a jail or correctional agency for the purpose of housing prisoners, or any properly established treatment or nonprofit facility located in a properly zoned area determined by the local governing authority and housing persons for purposes of sex offender services and treatment; and
  • married people, both of whom are required to register as sex offenders, or two or more blood relatives who are required to register as sex offenders, from residing in any individual dwelling during the term of registration as a sex offender.

“Individual dwelling” means:

  • a private residential property, whether owned, leased or rented, including all real property zoned as single-family residential property or zoned as multi-family residential property due to any adjacent, detached or separate living quarters of any kind on such property;
  • any room available within any boarding house or group home as such term is defined by subsection D of this section;
  • any single apartment for rent or lease within an apartment building; or
  • any separate residential unit made available for sale, rent or lease within a multi-unit structure, including a condominium, duplex, triplex, quadriplex, or any unit that is constructed together with other separate units into one structure.

“Multi-unit structure” means a structure with multiple residential units that provide independent living facilities for living, sleeping, cooking, eating, and sanitation within each individual unit. Manufactured homes, mobile homes, trailers, and recreational vehicles that do not meet the descriptions of this paragraph are not multi-unit structures.

Sex Offender Conditions

A sex offender applying for an original, renewal or replacement Class A, B, C or D driver license or identification card who is an aggravated or habitual offender must be issued a license or card bearing the words “Sex Offender”. When someone l is no longer required to register as a convicted sex offender with the Department of Corrections, the individual shall be eligible to receive a driver license or identification card which does not bear the words “Sex Offender”.

A sex offender may be prohibited from accessing or using any Internet social networking web site that has the potential or likelihood of allowing the sex offender to have contact with any child who is under 18 years old.

A court may order a sex offender to register any electronic mail address information, instant message, chat, or other Internet communication name or identity information that the sex offender uses or intends to use while accessing the Internet or used for other purposes of social networking or other similar Internet communication.

A court may require a sex offender to participate in a treatment program designed specifically for the treatment of sex offenders, if available. The treatment program has to include polygraph examinations specifically designed for use with sex offenders for the purpose of supervision and treatment compliance, provided the examination is administered by a certified licensed polygraph examiner. The treatment program must be approved by the Department of Corrections or the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. The treatment must be paid for by the sex offender and based on the offender’s ability to pay.

Where Sex Offenders Can Go

A sex offender can’t loiter within 500 feet of any:

  • elementary, junior high or high school,
  • permitted or licensed child care center,
  • playground, or
  • park

The above doesn’t apply to someone convicted of a sex crime in another state of a crime that Oklahoma requires registration as a sex offender when the victim was 16 years old or older.

A sex offender is prohibited from entering any park if:

  • he or she has been designated as a habitual or aggravated sex offender in Oklahoma or
  • he or she has been convicted of an offense in another jurisdiction, which offense, if committed or attempted in Oklahoma, would designate him or her as a habitual or aggravated sex offender in Oklahoma

A sex offender is prohibited from loitering within 1,000 feet of the residence of his or her victim if:

  • the person who committed a sex crime against the victim has been convicted of said crime, and
  • the person is required to register pursuant to the Sex Offenders Registration Act.

A sex offender may attend a recognized church or religious denomination for worship. However, the sex offender must notify the religious leader of his or her status as a registered sex offender and the sex offender must be granted written permission by the religious leader.

If ordered by the court, a habitual or aggravated sex offender will be supervised by the Department of Corrections for the duration of the registration period and will be assigned to a global position monitoring device by the Department of Corrections for the duration of the registration period. The cost of the monitoring device will be paid for by the sex offender.

A sex offender who is assigned to a community corrections center, community work center, or halfway house, must wear a GPS monitoring system for the duration of the registration period if ordered by a judge. Any sex offender paroled must wear a GPS monitoring system.

Any sex offender who wants to travel internationally must inform his or her residence jurisdiction of any intended travel outside of the United States at least 21 calendar days prior to that travel. In order to be in compliance, offenders must notify the Sex and Violent Offender Registration Unit.

Work Sex Offenders Can’t Perform

It’s illegal for sex offenders to:

  • work with or provide services to children or
  • work on school premises.

It’s unlawful for any person or business which contracts for work to be performed on school premises to knowingly and willfully allow any sex offender to work with children or to work on school premises.

A registered sex offender can’t be employed as a:

  • peace officer
  • criminal investigator
  • private investigator,
  • or security guard.

Sources: 21 O.S. §§ 1040.75, 1040.12a, 1024.1, & 1040.8; 47 O.S. § 6-111; 57 O.S. §§ 583, 589, 510.10, 584, 590, & 590.1; 22 O.S. § 991a ; and 43 O.S. § 2

Current as of June 28, 2019.

Charged with possession of child pornography in Oklahoma? Call Oklahoma sex crime lawyer Frank Urbanic in OKC at 405-633-3420.

Don’t panic! Call Urbanic.®