The Delayed Sentencing Program for Young Adults in Oklahoma is typically known as the Regimented Inmate Discipline (RID) program. The primary statute that covers RID in Oklahoma is 22 O.S. § 996.3. RID is a special type of deferred sentencing option for certain young adults who are neither juveniles or youthful offenders. Most of the time, an individual in RID is placed into a “boot camp” style environment. An eligible offender is any adult 18–21 years old as of the date of a verdict of guilty or a guilty/no contest plea for a nonviolent felony offense or a juvenile who has been certified to stand trial as an adult for a nonviolent felony offense, who has no charges pending for a violent offense. A defendant must plead before their 22nd birthday to be eligible for RID. The offender cannot have been convicted of any of the following crimes:
- Assault, battery, or assault and battery with a dangerous or deadly weapon;
- Aggravated assault and battery on a police officer, sheriff, highway patrolman, or any other officer of the law;
- Poisoning with intent to kill;
- Shooting with intent to kill;
- Assault with intent to kill;
- Using a vehicle to facilitate the intentional discharge of any kind of firearm;
- Discharging any firearm or other deadly weapon at or into any dwelling;
- Assault with intent to commit a felony;
- Assaults while masked or disguised;
- Murder in the first degree;
- Murder in the second degree;
- Manslaughter in the first degree;
- Manslaughter in the second degree;
- Burglary in the first degree;
- Kidnapping for extortion;
- Robbery in the first degree;
- Robbery in the second degree;
- Armed robbery;
- Robbery by two or more persons;
- Robbery with dangerous weapon or imitation firearm;
- Any crime against a child;
- Wiring equipment, vehicle, or structure with explosives;
- Forcible sodomy;
- Rape in the first degree;
- Rape by instrumentation;
- Lewd or indecent proposition or lewd or indecent act with a child;
- Use of a firearm or offensive weapon to commit or attempt to commit a felony;
- Pointing firearms;
- Arson in the first degree;
- Endangering human life during arson;
- Procure, produce, distribute, or possess juvenile pornography;
- Parental consent to juvenile pornography;
- Distributing obscene material or child pornography;
- Unlawful manufacturing, attempting to unlawfully manufacture or aggravated manufacturing of any controlled dangerous substance; and
- Any violation of the Trafficking in Illegal Drugs Act.
What Happens While A Defendant Is In RID?
RID is a very intense and structured probation or confinement. It lasts 180 days to one year. Some counties have an out-of-custody RID option. Typically, a defendant enters a plea before entering RID. The court will delay sentencing when it orders an offender into RID. The plea paperwork will state the outcome for the defendant’s case upon successful completion of RID. Offenders who violate the conditions their sentence in RID can get sentenced to prison—with or without suspension.
While in RID, the Department of Corrections will recommend a course of action for the defendant that may include counseling, psychiatric or medical treatment, education or vocational training, work, restitution, and other programs that offer the best opportunity for rehabilitation of the offender. If the plan recommends confinement, the plan has to state specifically the type of confinement that the Department of Corrections proposes to use and the amount of time the offender will spend in that confinement, including but not limited to boot camp, substance abuse treatment, and vocational or educational placement.
What Happens After A Defendant Completes RID?
After completion of RID, the court must either:
- Defer the judgment;
- Sentence the offender to any sentence provided by law in the custody of the Department of Corrections;
- Suspend the execution of sentence;
- Sentence the offender to community sentencing; or
- Dismiss the criminal charges and proceedings.
For more information on Regimented Inmate Discipline In Oklahoma, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Call (405) 633-3420 to speak with an attorney.