What Is Shoplifting In Oklahoma?

Shoplifting in Oklahoma is defined in 21 O.S. § 1731 as the larceny of merchandise held for sale in retail or wholesale establishments.

Punishment for Shoplifting in Oklahoma

The first or second shoplifting conviction is a misdemeanor if the value of shoplifted items is less than $1,000. The maximum punishment in the county jail is 30 days. The fine range is $10–$500. If more than one item has been taken in the first or second conviction, then the minimum fine increases to $50.

If it is shown, in the trial of a case in which the value of the shoplifted property is less than $1,000, that the defendant has been convicted of shoplifting two or more times, then, on a third or subsequent conviction, the maximum punishment in the county jail is one year. The maximum fine is $1,000.

Shoplifting goods valued at $1,000 or more is a felony. The maximum punishment in the Department of Corrections is five years. Voters approved a change to this statute on November 8, 2017 by passing SQ 780. The change went into effect on July 1, 2017.

SOURCE: 21 O.S. § 1731

For more information on Shoplifting Offenses In Oklahoma, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (405) 633-3420 today.